Maybelline Color Show Acid Wash Effect in Ripped-Tide

I apologise for the long title! The name of this little gorgeous polish is just this long..

I also usually strive to upload my post in chronological order, and never compromising on quality with ‘just getting a post out’, but I just wanted to show this little beauty to you πŸ™‚

10578519_10154583971880262_375579301_o

I bought this bottle at bol.com for €3.99, because I had some coupons to spend (also bought nail strengthener, nail polish remover, a top coat, a brightening concealer, and a mattifying compact powder; might do some reviews on those things!) and its name is Ripped-Tide (247). It’s a cute bright blue jelly-like polish, with white ‘glitters’ in all sizes! I can distinguish 5 or 6 different sizes, with the largest glitters being about 2 millimeters in size!

10676684_10154583973485262_536787658_o10709750_10154583973270262_1054820875_o10707771_10154583973000262_1846169278_o

The blue formula is very sheer though; I needed three coats to get some kind of opacity (and it wasn’t even fully opaque), but that was fine actually. It dried quick, and isn’t as bumpy as I’d expected it to be. Even the larger glitters lie relatively flat, and are easily evened out with a top coat. The sheer formula of the polish makes for a great layered-glitters-effect, I’m really loving it! I do suggest wearing it over a white or blue Β though, so the colours pop some more πŸ™‚

I can’t really comment on the wear time, I can’t even wear it for a full day but my nails are really terrible. I used a coat of the new strengthener, and the new top coat, but still I had massive chips and could peel off large chunks of the polish. But even with a base coat, some of the glitters stuck stubbornly to my nails!

To conclude, I’m quite happy with my purchase! It has a very unique look to it, and if this bright blue isn’t really your thing, they’ve got some other shades too, including a white glitter topper!

11 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Show Acid Wash Effect in Ripped-Tide

    • Met twee wat dikkere lagen kan ie er ook nog mee wegkomen, en al helemaal met een base colour. Daarnaast geeft het wel een enorm leuk gelaagd effect πŸ˜€

  1. Wat een leuk lakje zeg!! Leuk effect πŸ™‚ Wel jammer dat hij niet zo goed dekt. Maar t is wel een lakje die ik nog nooit eerder heb gezien! Leuk. Liefs

    • Ik heb je comment totaal gemist :O Maar ik ben er ook gek op! De dekking valt minder op in real life, en met een basiskleurtje valt het heel erg mee. Het gelaagde effect is geweldig πŸ˜€

Share some words with me