Making Scones

scones_clearbg

 

For a High Tea, I tried my hand at making scones! I have had them before, and I just *love* them 😀
I used a recipe from a Dutch supermarket site, Albert Heijn. For my non-Dutch readers, here’s what you’ll need for 8 scones (I doubled the recipe):

  • 250g self-raising flour
  • 2.5 teaspoon baking powder
  • 0.5 teaspoon salt
  • 8g vanilla sugar
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 50g butter
  • 1 egg
  • 75 ml milk
  • whipping cream
  • (raspberry) jam

And a summary of the recipe:

  1. Heat oven at 225 degrees Celcius
  2. Sift the baking powder, the flour and the salt in a bowl, add vanilla sugar and regular sugar. Add the butter.
  3. Whisk the egg and the milk in a separate bowl, and add most of it to the dry mixture (you save this to brush over the scones before they go into the oven)
  4. Knead knead knead knead! Add some more milk to get the right consistency; it should form a solid ball that just about stays together.
  5. It says to roll out the dough and use a cookie cutter, but I just separated the dough into 8 parts and rolled flattened balls from them. I actually split the balls again, because I had doubled the recipe 😉
  6. Before you put them into the oven, brush the egg-milk stuff over the scones, and then bake them for about 10 minutes until they’re light brown.
  7. For the topping: Whisk the whipping cream until it forms nice peaks (I also added some vanilla sugar because I just love the sweetness)

And you’re done! For added sweetness, I made a sweetened butter (which also tasted delicious on toast).

You’ll need:

  • 115g butter at room temperature
  • 55g brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • a bit of ground nutmeg and cinnamon

Now, just add all of this together (I didn’t use these exact measurements because my scale isn’t very precise xD) and mix until everything is evenly distributed!

To serve, I cut the scones in halves, and added the butter, a spoonful of whipped cream and a bit of jam! It tasted wonderful ❤

6 thoughts on “Making Scones

    • Het recept komt ‘gewoon’ van de AH-site, maar ik vind het zelf altijd wel fijn om te lezen wat andere mensen tijdens het maken zijn tegengekomen (bijv. dat ik wat meer melk moest toevoegen) en hoe het uiteindelijk gelukt is 🙂 Ze waren inderdaad echt goddelijk lekker ❤

Share some words with me

