DIY: Matte top coat

I’ve been expanding my nail polish collection for a while now (I just bought a massive amount of Catrice polishes from mylittlepaperplane), but one thing that was seriously lacking, is a good matte top coat, or any matte polishes at all. I’ve been drooling over pictures of matte (mostly denim) polishes, and they just make a look so much classier!

Now, being the budget lover (and DIY lover) I am, I found this video on YouTube how to make your own matte top coat! I tried it, and it worked quite well! So, of course, I’ll share this with you too 🙂
DIY_matte_02
What you need:

  • Clear nail polish
  • Corn starch
  • (paper) funnel
  • Spoon

DIY_matte_04 DIY_matte_03

And that’s really all! I didn’t even use a funnel because.. Well I forgot it xD I made a bit of a mess but nothing really bad.

How it works:

  1. Make sure your bottle is not completely full, otherwise there’s no room for the corn starch. I had a little bit of polish left in a bottle I spilled (over my pants..) and used it to test this DIY 🙂
  2. Place the funnel over the polish bottle and put a bit of the corn starch in. There’s no exact amount of corn starch you need to add, just add, shake and test until you got something you like! I added quite a lot to a small amount of polish, so don’t be scared to put in a lot.
  3. Again, that’s it. Easy, isn’t it? Just remember to shake well. If your polish gets too thick, you can add some thinner or nail polish remover.

DIY_matte_05 DIY_matte_06

 

And this is my result! On the left is with the DIY top coat, on the left is the plain polish (no top coat). I used Catrice’s Petrolpolitan (no. 35) from the aforementioned haul 😀

DIY_matte_07 DIY_matte_08

 

So, what do you think about this DIY and/or matte polishes itself? I just *love* them 🙂

8 thoughts on “DIY: Matte top coat

Share some words with me

